Games and Gadgets

A place where we discuss Games,Gadgets and lotsa other stuff!

Windows Apps On a Linux Desktop

So I needed to run a windows app on my notebook but did not see the need to dual-boot when I installed Ubuntu. Next best thing VMware and it is pretty easy to install. But I found instructions that went one step better. Instructions for installing VMware can be found on the Ubuntu Forums. The instructions I used allows me to get windows apps working on my Linux desktop. The instructions can be found here. Once you have installed all the software mentioned in the article all you need to do is start the VM windows and then call the windows apps to your Linux side. Map a drive between the virtual windows and linux and then you can share docs and other files. Perfect for when u only need windows for one app.

March 14, 2007 - Posted by | ubuntu

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

